RI.gov:

MEDIA ADVISORY

EVENT: Rhode Island Department of Corrections Annual Employee Awards Ceremony

DATE: Thursday, February 19, 2009 TIME: 9:00 a.m.

LOCATION: R.I. Department of Mental Health, Retardation and Hospitals Eleanor Slater Hospital George C. Arnold Conference Center in the Regan Building 111 Howard Avenue Cranston, RI 02920

RIDOC CONTACT: Tracey E. Zeckhausen, Chief of Information and Public Relations Tel: 401-462-2609 E-Mail: tracey.zeckhausen@doc.ri.gov

AWARDS TO BE PRESENTED: • JOHN J. MORAN AWARD – to honor a staff member from the Division of Rehabilitative Services who exemplifies helping others to achieve their maximum potential on a daily basis. Some of the qualities expected of the recipient of this award include outstanding work performance, dedication, alertness, good communication skills, and the ability to motivate other staff members. Recipient: Scott Tirocchi, Acting Professional Services Coordinator

- COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS AWARD to recognize an individual from the Division of Rehabilitative Services who exhibits professionalism, teamwork, willingness to work above and beyond the norm, loyalty to the Department, a positive and productive attitude, and excellent work ethic. Recipient: Susan Heffner, Probation and Parole Officer
- EXEMPLARY SERVICE AWARD to recognize a staff member of the Division of Administration who best exemplifies the purpose of the Division—providing support to Departmental operations. The qualities expected of the recipient include professionalism, initiative, competence, helpfulness, responsiveness, dedication to the job, interpersonal communication skills, and a strong spirit of cooperation. Recipient: Karen Zambarano, Human Resources Analyst I
- (DEPARTMENTAL) CORRECTIONAL OFFICER OF THE YEAR within the Division of Institutions & Operations; to enhance Correctional Officer appearance, professionalism, morale, esprit de corps; and to recognize and acknowledge outstanding performance of duties. Recipient: Aboud Saggal, Correctional Officer, Donald Price Medium Security Facility
- SUPERVISOR OF THE YEAR within the Division of Institutions & Operations; to recognize and reward an outstanding supervisor whose supervision qualities, appearance, professionalism, and esprit de corps are exceptional; and to recognize and acknowledge outstanding performance of duties. Recipient: Jeffrey Aceto, Correctional Officer Captain, Maximum Security
- DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD within the Division of Institutions & Operations; to recognize staff members who have committed an act of bravery or heroism on or off duty. Recipient: Frederick Haibon, Correctional Officer Captain, Records & ID
- MERITORIOUS SERVICE AWARD within the Division of Institutions & Operations; to recognize exceptional accomplishments related to an officer's assigned post. Recipient: Scott Rafferty, Correctional Officer, Intake Service Center
- TEAMWORK AWARD to honor an interdisciplinary team from the various divisions within the Department that accomplished a specific goal or project that contributed to the Department's mission or solved a systemic problem. Project: Contraband Interdiction Team Recipients: Justin Amaral, Correctional Officer Lieutenant, Minimum Security David Baptista, Investigator William Begones, Investigator Steve Cabral, Investigator George Cacchiotti, Correctional Officer, Minimum Security Alfred Carmody, Correctional Officer, John J. Moran Medium Security Robert Catlow, Acting Inspector John DeFusco, Correctional Officer, John J. Moran Medium Security Joseph Forgue, Investigator Russell Freeman, Investigator Wayne Gardner, Correctional Officer, Minimum Security Ray Lawson, Investigator Kyle Malo, Correctional Officer, John J. Moran Medium Security Michael Martufi, Correctional Officer Captain, Minimum Security Sukhvinder Metha, Correctional Officer, Minimum Security Michael Reis, Correctional Officer Lieutenant, Minimum Security Linda Rose, Investigator Joseph Souza, Correctional Officer, John J. Moran Medium Security William Tucker, Correctional Officer, Minimum Security
- FRIENDS OF THE CORRECTIONS DEPARTMENT AWARD to honor and recognize an individual from outside our ranks (i.e., neither employee nor volunteer) who made a significant and valued contribution to the Department's mission. Recipients: Cathy Andreozzi, Volunteer, Zero Fatalities Project Daniel Converse, Volunteer, Zero Fatalities

www.ri.gov/press/view/8208

Project James Lee, Chief, Civil Division, Office of the Attorney General Jay Sullivan, Assistant Attorney General

Related links

Department or agency: Department of Corrections

Online: http://www.doc.rl.gov

Release date: 02-12-2009

www.ri.gov/press/view/8208 2/3

www.ri.gov/press/view/8208